2018 Award Winners


Agent of the Year

Lesa Williams - Twin City Insurance Agency
Lesa Williams, President of Twin City Insurance Agency in Newton, NC was named the 2018 Agent of the Year for her outstanding service to IIANC. Lesa is currently serving on her second term on the IIANC Board of Directors. She has worked in the industry for 43 years, and is a former member of the Board of Directors for the Carolina Association of Professional Insurance Agents (CAPIA), and was IIANC's CIC Committee Chairman for 12 years. She is very active in her community, participating at the Operation Christmas Child distribution center, the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure, volunteering at the local soup kitchen, and more.

IIANC Education Foundation Scholarship

John Hackney Agency
The 2018 IIANC Education Foundation Scholarship was presented to John Hackney Agency in Rocky Mount, NC. This $5,000 scholarship is used for the staff’s continuing education. Thomas Rhodes and Reid Rhodes accepted the award on the agency’s behalf.


Broker of the Year

AmWINS Brokerage of the Carolinas
2018 Broker of the Year honors went to AmWINS Brokerage of the Carolinas. This award is presented to the broker that has demonstrated support for association activities and commitment to the independent agency system. 


Company of the Year

Builders Mutual Insurance
Builders Mutual Insurance received the 2018 Company of the Year award, which is presented to the company that has demonstrated support for association activities and commitment to the independent agency system. They are a strong advocate for IIANC and are involved in recruiting new members and spreading the world of all that IIANC has to offer to independent agents.


Young Agent of the Year

Owen Thomas, MBA - Dial Insurance Agency
Owen Thomas of Dial Insurance Agency in Pembroke, NC, was named IIANC’s 2018 Young Agent of the Year. Owen has been a member of the iLEAD Committee since 2014, and is currently serving as Vice Chairman. He is also very involved in his local community as a Lumberton City Council member. Despite experiencing his own personal losses from the flooding after Hurricane Florence, he has been active in raising awareness of the community's devastation and helping in recovery efforts.


Company Professional of the Year

Kelly Bailey - Heritage Insurance
The 2018 Company Professional of the Year award was given to Kelly Bailey of Heritage Insurance for the outstanding support she and her company have shown to IIANC throughout the years. 



Lifetime Achievement Award

Dal Snipes, CIC
The Lifetime Achievement Award, only given to 14 others throughout the entire history of the association, was presented to Dal Snipes. Dal served as IIANC President in 2002-2003 and rejoined the Board in 2011 as National Director where he served two terms. He has chaired and served on numerous IIANC committees, been active with his involvement through IIABA at the national level, and is a loyal supporter of his local community.